In 1659 the Saint Lawrence Parish is the first to be erected outside the city walls.
The present church, already the fourth in a row, is a remarkable monument from the interbellum, in Neo-Byzantine style with Art Deco elements. She is consecrated in 1934.
Striking in the landscape is the central building with a dome and robust freestanding tower (65 m). The tower and the Baptistery limit the atrium at the main entrance.
Architect J. Huygh adopts an overall concept for the building and its furnishings. To achieve this he appeals to different contemporary artists. Architecture, decoration and furniture are specifically designed based on the rich symbolism from the artist’s movement ‘De Pelgrim’.
The main altar (A. Bressers) stands in the middle, just as Christ is the central figure in the Church. The four large double pillars supporting the dome, are topped with majestic bull figures whose head is the allegorical depiction of the four evangelists (Rik Sauter).
The 12 smaller red marble pillars represent the twelve apostles and support the circular gallery.
The large, round chandelier (R. Haan) with its 72 lamps, recalls the 72 disciples of Christ. The pelican, many times represented both in stone and in bronze stands as a symbol of Christ’s love.
The organ, built by B. Pels, and inaugurated in 1935 by Flor Peeters, still accompanies the celebrations and is regularly played for concerts.
The colourful mosaics (J. Collette) and the stained glass windows (J. Collette-Fr.Slijpen) are installed in the fifties.
In 1975, when rearranging the Baptistery as a week chapel, two stained glass by J. Huet are placed. Finally, 2 modern stained glasses and the connecting door to the church are set up in 2009 by Joost Caen.