Christ the King Church

Antwerpen Kristus-Koning - Buiten

Christ the King Church is quite different from all the other Antwerp churches.

Architect Jos Smolderen conceived this art deco church of Romanesque byzantine inspiration, as a pavilion of Flemish religious art for the Antwerp Universal Exhibition of 1930. Afterwards it became a parish church. With its 64m tall tower and three monumental domes it is a prominent element of the city skyline.

It is a cross-shaped basilica oriented from east to west. Its interior is strongly determined by the magnificent incidence of light. The neo-styles have a strikingly homogenous character, which shows best in the usage of mainly white marble and brass for the numerous altars, the pulpit, the choir stalls, the communion rails and the confessionals.

Also due to the contemporary works of art this church is an exceptional experience: the extraordinary stained glass windows by Jos Michiels (Calders Workshop), the austere sculptures by Alfons De Roeck and the magnificent luminaires.

A special attraction is the enormous electropneumatic Klais Organ (1930) with 5,564 pipes, which is regularly played in concerts and masses and during the annual organ cycle in October.

The church is within easy reach by private and public transport. It is open to visitors every day. Not to be missed!

Main Entrance

Louis Straussstraat, 1
2020 Antwerpen

Public Transport

Rail-1 (NMBS)
Antwerpen Centraal + tram 2 (Hoboken) of tram 6 (Olympiade)
Rail-2 (NMBS)
Antwerpen-Zuid + bus 500 (Mechelen)
Tram (De Lijn)
2, 6 (hoek Volhardingstraat - Jan Van Rijswijcklaan)
Bus (De Lijn)
22, 180/181/182/183 500 (Jan De Voslei)
Biking with VELO-Antwerpen
Velo 293 Edgard Castelein

église du Christ-Roi

L’église du Christ-Roi est un cas spécial parmi les églises Anversoises.

L’architecte Jos Smolderen conçoit cette église art-déco d’inspiration Romane et Byzantine comme pavillon de l’Art Sacré Flamand pour l’Exposition Universelle de 1930 à Anvers. Par après elle est réaménagée en église paroissiale. Avec sa tour de 64 m de haut et ses 3 coupoles monumentales elle domine le panorama de la ville.

L’intérieur de cette basilique orientée est-ouest frappe par son effet spatial et sa luminosité agréable. L’homogénéité frappante des styles néo est obtenue par l’emploi de marbre blanc et du cuivre pour les nombreux autels, la chaire, les stalles, les bancs de communion et les confessionnaux.

Les œuvres d’art contemporaines aussi contribuent à lui donner une atmosphère particulière : l’exceptionnel ensemble de vitraux conçus par Jos Michiels (Atelier Calders), les sculptures épurées d’Alfons De Roeck en la belle armature de lumière.

Le grandiose orgue électropneumatique Klais (1930) mérite une mention particulière avec ses 5564 tuyaux. Il est mis à l’honneur lors de messes concerts, ainsi que lors du festival annuel d’orgue en octobre.

L’église est facile d’accès tant en transport privé que public. Elle est ouverte à la visite tous les jours. À recommander.

Entrée principale

Louis Straussstraat, 1
2020 Antwerpen

Informations pratiques

Célébrations eucharistiques:
Dimanche : 09h00 et 11h00  

Heures de visite:
Lundi – Samedi: 09h00 – 12h00
Dimanche : 11h00 – 12h00
Sous réserve de célébrations spéciales

Entrée libre 

Informations:
www.eglisesouvertes.be  

Cure
Louis Straussstraat 1
2020 Antwerpen
+32 (0)3 237 58 47

Sur la carte ci-contre, vous pouvez déterminer un itinéraire en fonction de votre moyen de transport.
Essayez aussi VELO-Antwerpen : https://www.velo-antwerpen.be/fr