The Antwerp jesuit church, a revelation.

When leaving

The enclosed porch

When leaving the church through the enclosed porch (Jan Pieter I Van Baurscheit, 1721) you will see a couple of life size ladies showing two of the most important virtues: on the left confident faith (cross) and on the right firm hope (anchor, of which the barb has broken off). From a distance, a third virtue can be seen in between them, on top of the porch: love, symbolized by a mother treating her little children lovingly. Together they represent the three divine virtues. The way they have been positioned corresponds completely with the verse in the Bible: “So faith, hope, love remain, these three; but the greatest of these is love.” (1 Cor. 13:13). Since in our culture we read from left to right, faith, left, is in the first position. Hope follows in the second one. The “greatest” of the three divine virtues holds the most important position, enthroned between them.

In the Baroque period, the three divine virtues were mostly depicted on an altar, at which Jesus’ sacrifice of love was celebrated. Why then, are they on the enclosed porch here, and only visible when going out? Could it be inspired by an anecdote from Ignatius’ life? At his departure from Barcelona to Rome (ca. 20-3-1523) someone reproached him that it was not wise to go on a pilgrimage to the Holy Land without knowing the languages and without a companion. Ignatius, who wanted to depend only on God and did not take any money with him either, answered that “the only things he wanted to own were the three divine virtues: faith, hope and love.” This is an enduring message for all those who provide themselves only with material luggage on their voyage through life…

Even if this were the only contribution of art-loving Jesuits of olden times to the social graces of present day visitors, the aim of this exuberant church may be called successful: to help people think and choose ‘to the greater glory of God’.

Once you are outside again in Hendrik Conscienceplein, you might be glad to look once again at the magnificent façade or… on a cosy outdoor café. But notice the heavy iron railing (1873) that must protect the artistic façade… Incidentally the bars are decorated with little crosses, alternating with little hearts and anchors. Once again, the three divine virtues! Out of the abundance of the heart… also religious art speaketh…

L’église des jésuites à Anvers, une révélation.

En sortant

Le vestibule

En quittant l’église par le vestibule (Jan Pieter Van Baurscheit l’Ancien, 1721) deux femmes grandeur nature représentent les vertus les plus importantes dans la vie : à gauche, la Foi (la croix), à droite l’Espérance (une ancre) (un des bras est brisé). En prenant de la distance, nous voyons au-dessus du portail et au milieu des deux prénommées, la troisième vertu : l’Amour, symbolisé par une mère qui s’occupe tendrement de ses enfants. Ce trio représente les vertus théologales. Leur place correspond totalement au verset de la Bible : actuellement, trois choses demeurent : la foi, l’espérance, la charité ; mais la plus grande des trois, c’est la charité (1 Cor.13, 13). Dans notre civilisation nous lisons de gauche à droite. La Foi qui se trouve à gauche est donc la première. L’Espérance est à la seconde place, à droite. La “plus grande” des trois vertus théologales occupe le centre qui est la place d’honneur.

En général, à la période baroque, les trois vertus théologales sont représentées sur un autel où se célèbre le sacrifice d’amour de Jésus. Pourquoi les voit-on ici au-dessus du porche et uniquement en sortant ? Est-ce inspiré d’une anecdote de la vie d’Ignace ? Lors de son départ de Barcelone pour Rome (vers le 20 mars 1523) quelqu’un lui fit remarquer son imprudence de partir en pèlerinage vers la Terre Sainte sans connaître les langues et sans compagnon de voyage. Ignace désirant s’abandonner complètement à Dieu n’emportant d’ailleurs aucun argent, répondit que ‘la seule chose qu’il désirait posséder était les trois vertus : Foi, Espérance et Charité’. Un message fort pour quiconque ne se munit que d’un bagage matériel pour le voyage de la vie …

Même si ceci ne devait être que l’unique apport des jésuites esthètes de jadis à l’art de vivre des visiteurs d’aujourd’hui, on pourrait estimer qu’en construisant cette église exubérante leur but est atteint : aider les gens à réfléchir et à choisir ‘pour la plus grande gloire de Dieu’.

Sortis de l’église, sur la place Hendrik Conscience jetterez-vous peut-être un dernier regard sur son éblouissante façade ou rechercherez-vous une agréable petite terrasse pour vous détendre un peu. Néanmoins observez encore la clôture en fer forgé (1873) qui protège cette superbe façade. Comme par hasard les piquets sont décorés de croix alternant avec un cœur et une ancre. Une fois de plus les trois vertus théologales ! Ce dont le cœur est rempli … l’art ecclésial déborde …