The Antwerp jesuit church, a revelation.

The chapel of Saint Francis Xavier

In the northern aisle, the 1720 wainscoting with a cycle of 20 passages from the life of Saint Francis Xavier ends in an apse with the altar that was devoted to him (1621). Here too the emphasis is on the miraculous aspects, even though the ‘apostle of India’ – as he is called in the arch above the apse – is strongly typified as an enterprising, vigorous and heroic proclaimer of faith. The most important attribute of this missionary is the crucifix he is holding up as a sign of his preaching. Anyway, as a youngster Francis already had an ardent devotion for the crucified Christ. Xavier can mostly be recognized from the white surplice and the stole above the black Jesuit cassock: i.e. the liturgical garments to baptize (converts).

The ‘apostle of India’ mainly worked in Goa, where he founded a college, and at the South coast with the poor and the oppressed. He went a lot about with children and in this way tried to reach also the older ones for Jesus’ message. After having crossed several islands of the Indonesian archipelago, he attempted to establish closer contact with rulers and scientists in his beloved Japan. Finally, they pointed at the land of culture, China. On his way there, the great missionary died on the desert island Sancian in 1552. The day of his death, 3rd December, now is his feast-day. His body lies in Goa.

This missionary, who once and for all had left his family, friends and culture, at a time when one could not fly to and from by plane, left an impressive correspondence. This stimulated many young idealists to become a Jesuit missionary. In his trail, a great deal of Flemings (‘Flamencos’) went to the Far East. One of them was Ferdinand Verbiest, who was appointed chief astronomer and builder of the imperial observatory in Peking (1688). Therefore, the foundation at the Catholic University of Louvain promoting the relationship with China, bears his name.

From Antwerp, these missions to the Far East were provided with religious works of art and especially with thousands of pictures (engravings). The artistic influence was mutual; this is testified by for instance the Chinese liturgical textile in the sacristy.

L’église des jésuites à Anvers, une révélation.

La chapelle Saint-François Xavier

Dans la nef nord un lambris de 1720 nous montre un cycle de 20 tableaux racontant la vie de saint François Xavier. Ces panneaux se terminent dans un petit chœur où l’autel lui est dédié (1621). Ici aussi le surnaturel est mis en exergue d’autant plus que ‘apôtre de l’Inde’, comme l’arc au-dessus de l’abside le nomme, est un prédicateur entreprenant, énergique et héroïque. Pour ce missionnaire, son attribut le plus important est le crucifix qu’il tend la main levée, en signe de prédication. Adolescent, Francisco avait déjà une vénération pour le Christ crucifié. La plupart du temps, Xavier est reconnaissable à son surplis blanc et à son étole, mis par-dessus la chasuble noire de jésuite : ceci est le vêtement liturgique que porte le prêtre pour baptiser (les convertis).

‘L’apôtre de l’Inde’ travaille principalement à Goa, où il fonde un collège, et sur la côte du sud chez les pauvres et les opprimés. Il côtoie beaucoup de jeunes, espérant de cette manière aussi toucher les anciens par le message de Jésus. Après avoir parcouru plusieurs îles de l’archipel indonésien, il se rend à son cher Japon, où il entre en contact avec monarques et savants. Suivant leur conseil, il se rend en Chine, le pays culturel par excellence. En cours de route, le grand missionnaire meurt sur l’île isolée de Sancian en 1552. Le jour de son décès, 3 décembre, est son jour de fêté. Sa dépouille repose à Goa.

L’imposante correspondance de ce missionnaire – du temps où il n’y avait pas encore d’allées-venues en avion – qui a quitté une fois pour toute sa famille, ses amis et sa culture, a éveillé chez un grand nombre d’idéalistes une vocation de jésuite-missionnaire. Plusieurs Flamands (‘Flamencos’) dont le père Ferdinand Verbiest, ont suivi sa trace vers l’Extrême-Orient. Ce dernier, nommé astronome en chef, fit construire l’observatoire impérial à Pékin (1688). C’est la raison pour laquelle la fondation de l’Université Catholique de Leuven, qui soutient les relations avec la Chine, porte son nom.

En plus, Anvers envoya un grand nombre de chefs-d’œuvre religieux, en particulier des milliers d’images (des gravures) en Extrême-Orient. L’influence artistique fut réciproque, ce qu’atteste le textile liturgique chinois de la sacristie.