The Antwerp jesuit church, a revelation.

Epilogue

The Jesuit order in Antwerp since 1835

Because the papal decision to abolish the Jesuit order (1773) did not reach a number of regions in the world (the Near East, China, India) or was not acknowledged (Prussia, Russia) a small residue of the Society kept existing. In 1814 this lead to the restoration of the order by Pope Pius VII. Very soon the number of Society members increased and they could resume many of their former activities. This happened also in Belgium, Flanders, Antwerp.

In 1834 the Jesuits preached a big mission in their former church in Antwerp. And in 1835 they had a residence in Antwerp again. In 1840, they bought back a part of the former professed house, where in 1852 they founded the new technical and commercial high school Saint-Ignatius, with its entrance in Korte Nieuwstraat.

In the same year, 1840, they started Our Lady’s College in Keizerstraat, which was transferred to Kunstlei, the present Frankrijklei, in 1878. There a new Jesuit Church (1877-82) was built, not in the so-called “Jesuit style”, but in fashionable neo-Gothic. This church, devoted to Our Lady of Mercy, was designed by Jules Bilmeyer. The two towers, which contribute to the townscape, were only added in 1909-10.

The Jesuits acquired Mariënborgh back in 1856. Because the urban extension made it impossible to experience rural quietness there, they moved to a new plot on the border between Wilrijk and Edegem, which they also called ‘Mariënborgh’.

And yes, history was repeated almost completely: in 1929, the Jesuits became again the owners of ‘Hof van Liere’, which they had fully restored by their own means. They housed the Commercial High School there, which later became the University Faculties Saint-Ignatius Antwerp (UFSIA). In 1932, they left Korte Nieuwstraat, where the Sisters of Charity took over to start the Commercial High School for girls. Due to the fusion with the Flemish Catholic High School, it is now part of Lessius High School Antwerp, named after the Jesuit and Louvain professor († 1622), for whom economics could only pay if linked with ethical reflection. The campus ‘Carolus’ in Korte Nieuwstraat takes its name from the nearby Saint Charles Borromeo Church.

In 1935 a second college was founded in the Antwerp conurbation: the Dutch speaking Saint Xavier College in Borgerhout.

The Bollandists restarted in Brussels, whereas in Antwerp since 1925 the Ruusbroec Society has been devoting itself to the history of spirituality in the Low Countries.

The new Jesuit house next to the university buildings in Prinsstraat answers to the name Romero, the socially conscious archbishop – martyr of El Salvador († 1987): not a member of the Society, but someone who had a strong bond with the socially conscious Jesuits of his country.

In 2002 UFSIA was completely absorbed by the pluralistic Antwerp University. The University Centre Saint Ignatius Antwerp (UCSIA) wants to continue the tradition of a Jesuit university project that focuses on themes that want to give special shape to the Christian view on life. In this way, it wants to be of service for faith and culture and to contribute to a more just society.

L’église des jésuites à Anvers, une révélation.

Épilogue

L’ordre des jésuites à Anvers depuis 1835

La brève papale de 1773 ordonnant la suppression de l’Ordre des jésuites, n’avait pas atteint tous les territoires (l’Extrême-Orient, la Chine, l’Inde) ou dans certains cas elle n’avait pas été reconnue (la Prusse, la Russie). Par conséquent une petite partie de la Société de Jésus existait encore. Finalement l’Ordre est rétabli en 1814 par le pape Pie VII. Les membres de la Société augmentant rapidement, ils sont aptes à reprendre la plupart de leurs occupations d’antan, cela vaut aussi pour la Belgique, la Flandre et Anvers.

En 1834, les jésuites prêchent une grande mission dans leur ancienne église d’Anvers. Et en 1835, l’Ordre est à nouveau présent à Anvers. En 1840, les jésuites rachètent une partie de leur ancienne maison professe dans laquelle ils fondent le nouvel Institut Supérieur d’Industrie et de Commerce Saint-Ignace qui donne sur la Korte Nieuwstraat.

La même année, 1840, ils ouvrent le collège Notre-Dame dans la Keizerstraat, déplacé en 1878 à la Frankrijklei, (à l’époque la Kunstlei). Une nouvelle église des jésuites sort de terre (1877-1982), d’après un projet de Jules Bilmeyer, non pas dans l’ancien style jésuite mais dans un néo-gothique modieux. L’église est consacrée à Notre-Dame-de-Grâce. Ses deux tours, ajoutées en 1909-1910, contribuent à déterminer le panorama de la ville.

En 1856 les jésuites récupèrent Mariënborgh au Beerschot. L’expansion de la ville y hypothéquant le calme rural, on déménage vers un terrain à la frontière entre Wilrijk et Edegem, également nommé ‘Mariënborgh’.

Et oui, l’histoire se répète presque intégralement : en 1929 les jésuites recouvrent le ‘Hof van Liere’ qu’ils restaurent complètement avec leurs propres moyens. Ils y installent d’abord l’Institut Supérieur de Commerce, ensuite les Facultés Universitaires Saint-Ignace d’Anvers (UFSIA). Ils quittent la Korte Nieuwstraat où les Sœurs de la Charité ouvrent un internat-école de commerce pour jeunes-filles, actuellement intégrée dans la Lessius Hogeschool, du nom du jésuite et professeur à Louvain († 1623) pour qui l’économie n’est rentable que couplée à une réflexion éthique. Le campus ‘Carolus’ dans la Korte Nieuwstraat tient son nom de l’église Saint-Charles Borromée toute proche.

En 1935, ils ouvrent un second collège dans l’agglomération anversoise : le collège néerlandophone Saint-Xavier à Borgerhout.

Au lieu d’étudier les saints de l’Église catholique toute entière, comme l’avaient fait les Bollandistes à Anvers, depuis 1925 la ‘Ruusbroecgenootschap’ se penche plutôt sur l’histoire de la spiritualité dans les Pays-Bas.

La nouvelle maison des jésuites située à côté des installations universitaires de la Prinsstraat répond plus volontiers au nom de Romero, l’archevêque-martyr socialement engagé d’El Salvador († 1987) : il n’était pas membre de la Société, cependant il avait des relations étroites avec les jésuites de son pays qui sont fort engagés socialement.

En 2002 l’UFSIA est complètement absorbée par l’Université pluraliste d’Anvers. Le Centre Universitaire Saint-Ignace d’Anvers (UCSIA) tend à perpétuer la tradition d’un projet universitaire jésuite qui se concentre sur des thèmes qui donnent forme à une vision chrétienne de la vie au service de la foi et de la culture et contribuant à une société plus équitable.