The Antwerp jesuit church, a revelation.

The profess house

A centre of intellectual life

The fathers of the college were at first preoccupied with teaching and education. Those of the professed house devoted themselves to spirituality, liturgy, hearing confession, preaching and missionary work. In the literary field, the Jesuits were extremely active in the centre of printing., which Antwerp was Numerous works from their pens were published here. Some wrote poetry, such as Herman Hugo and Adriaan Poirters. Father Andreas Schott was an outstanding philologist. Historical works were also published, thanks to Carolus Scribani and, where Antwerp is concerned, Daniel Papebrochus, which is the Latinized form of ‘van Papenbroeck’. In humanistic circles Latin was just in! Spiritual literature was really abundant. The handbook of Marian congregations was by the pen of the great controversy preacher Franciscus Costerus (Frans de Coster).

Because intellectual Catholics find it hard to come to terms with legends about saints and because protestant Christians are opposed to devotion to saints anyhow, the Jesuits study the lives of saints using correct historical methods. The first one to do so was Heribert Rosweyde, followed by Johannes Bollandus, who turned the Antwerp professed house into a real study centre of hagiographers, who were called ‘Bollandists’ after him. Some fifty volumes of their world-famous Acta Sanctorum or The facts about saints saw the light of day here. Important collaborators were Godefridus Henschenius and Papebrochus.

Daniël Seghers – Flower garland around Mother with Child, Wikipedia

There were also artists among the Jesuits: architects François d’Aguilon and Peter Huyssens, the famous painter of flowers Daniël Seghers (Antwerp, 1590-1661) and Melchior Hamers, who had trained himself in sculpture. The fame of Seghers, who lived as a lay brother in the professed house from 1627 onwards, reached far beyond the country borders. Joost Van den Vondel (the famous Dutch poet) wrote a poem in his honour:

De geest van Seghers is een bij
waarop de Nederlanders° roemen.
Zij zuigt haar honinglekkernij
en geur uit allerhande bloemen.een bij kwam op zijn schilderij
en geur en kleuren aangevlogen
en riep: ‘Natuur, vergeef het mij,
dat bloemenpenseel heeft mij bedrogen’.
The spirit of Seghers is a bee
of which the Low Countries are proud.
It sucks its honey
and scent from various flowers.A bee came flying on his painting
attracted by scent and colours
and called: ‘Nature, forgive me,
that flowery paint brush deceived me’.

In Antwerp, the Jesuits were also known for their charitable efforts among prisoners, poor, ill and dying people, as well at home as in hospitals. For visiting the poor and ill they were assisted by members of the Marian congregations and by their spiritual daughters. During epidemics of plague the Jesuits are particularly devoted at nursing ill people, which is mentioned as assistunt pestiferis in the lists of the members of the house. Several ‘companions of Jesus’ succumbed; after all, “No disciple is above his teacher” (Mt. 10:24)

To obtain a sound balance between effort and recreation each Jesuit residence had a country house of their own at their disposal. The country estate the profess house had in Berchem was left in 1618 for Hof ter Rivieren in Deurne, which was situated more favourably, whereas the fathers of the college could acquire castle Vennenburg nearby. It was also called Goed ter Heyden and later it became known as Jezuïetenhof [Jesuit Court). And because the Jesuits from Lier owned Sterckxhof, right next to this, it can be said that what used to be owned by Jesuits then, is now the biggest green lung of Antwerp.

The boarding building (which was also called ‘convict’) was moved to Prinsstraat in 1630 and in 1651 it was moved once again to a third patrician premises, Hotel van Stralen in Korte Sint-Annastraat. In the middle of the 17th century 150 boarders lived there. Most of them were from wealthy families, from the surroundings as well as from abroad.

In 1638 the fathers of the ‘convict’ rented the country estate Crayenhof in Burcht for the recreation of their pupils. Because the presence of Northern troops caused insecurity, the Jesuits’ eyes soon fell on Bisschoppenhof (Bishop’s Court) of Bishop Malderus at Kiel (south of Antwerp), which they re-created as a garden of delight with trees, hedges and shrubs, ponds and playgrounds. Because they had also a chapel devoted to Our Lady built there, which was also used as a church for the 4,000 inhabitants of Kiel and Beerschot, the estate has been known as Mariënborgh ever since.

L’église des jésuites à Anvers, une révélation.

La maison professe

Un centre de vie intellectuelle

Les Pères du collège se préoccupent de l’instruction et de l’éducation, par contre ceux de la maison professe s’intéressent à la spiritualité, la liturgie, la confession, la prédication, les missions, l’étude et la recherche scientifique. Sur le plan littéraire, ils se font connaître par d’innombrables travaux publiés à Anvers, grand centre de l’imprimerie. Herman Hugo et Adrien Poirters publient des poèmes, André Schott des ouvrages de philologie, Carolus Scribani des livres d’histoire et Daniel Papebrochius, – nom latinisé de ‘van Papenbroeck’, le latin étant dans les cercles humanistes la langue usuelle – des écrits sur Anvers. La littérature religieuse est réellement abondante. Le livre de référence des Congrégations Mariales est l’œuvre du grand prédicateur Franciscus Costerus (Frans de Coster).

Les intellectuels catholiques étant confrontés aux légendes qui entourent certaines vies de saints, en plus les protestants s’opposant à la vénération des saints, leurs vies sont étudiées par les jésuites selon des méthodes de la critique historique. En premier lieu par Heribert Rosweyde, suivi de Johannes Bollandus, qui fait de la maison professe un centre d’étude d’hagiographes qui s’appelleront ‘les Bollandistes’ en mémoire de lui. Une cinquantaine de volumes de leur Acta Sanctorum ou La vie des Saints y ont vu le jour. Ce travail jouit d’une renommée internationale. Godegridus Henschenius et le prénommé Papebrochius en sont les principaux auteurs.

Daniël Seghers – Couronne de fleurs autour de la Madone à l’Enfant, Wikipedia

Certains jésuites sont aussi des artistes : les architectes François d’Aguilon et Pieter Huyssens, le célèbre peintre de compositions florales Daniel Seghers (Anvers, 1590-1661) et enfin, Melchior Hamers, connu pour ses sculptures. La célébrité de Seghers, un frère Jésuite habitant la maison professe à partir de 1627, dépasse les frontières. Joost van de Vondel composa un poème en son honneur :

De geest van Seghers is een bij
waarop de Nederlanders roemen.
Zij zuigt haar honinglekkernij
en geur uit allerhande bloemen. 

Een bij kwam op zijn schilderij
en geur en kleuren aangevlogen
en riep: ‘Natuur, vergeef het mij,
dat bloemenpenseel heeft mij bedrogen’.

L’esprit de Seghers est une abeille
dont s’enorgueillent les Néerlandais.
Elle aspire son miel succulent
et le parfum de diverses fleurs. 

Une abeille se posa sur son tableau
attirée par l’arôme et les couleurs
et s’écria « Nature, pardonne-moi,
ce bouquet de fleurs m’a trompée.

À Anvers, très actifs dans les œuvres caritatives, les jésuites visitent les prisonniers, les pauvres, les malades, les mourants, aussi bien à domicile que dans les hôpitaux. Les membres des Congrégations Mariales et leurs filles spirituelles les secondent dans ce ministère. Lors des épidémies, les jésuites se dépensent sans compter aux soins des malades. Ils nomment cela Assistunt pestiferis dans les listes de personnel. Plusieurs membres de la Compagnie de Jésus y laissent leur vie ; “un disciple ne se trouve pas au-dessus de son maître” (Mt. 10,24) ?

Pour créer un juste équilibre entre l’effort et la détente, chaque résidence de jésuites possède sa propre maison de campagne. En 1618, ceux de la maison professe quittent celle de Berchem pour le Rivierenhof à Deurne tandis que les Pères du collège acquièrent le château voisin Vennenburg, qui n’est autre que le domaine ter Heyden. Plus tard, il sera connu sous le nom du domaine des jésuites. Les jésuites de Lierre possédant la propriété attenante, le Sterckxhof. Ce qui jadis appartenait aux jésuites constitue aujourd’hui le plus grand poumon vert d’Anvers.

En 1630, l’internat ou convict est transféré à la Prinsstraat, pour déménager à nouveau vers une troisième résidence patricienne : l’Hôtel van Stralen dans la Korte Sint-Annastraat (la courte rue Sainte-Anne). Ce sera la troisième communauté indépendante de jésuites à Anvers. Au milieu du XVIIe siècle, elle héberge 150 internes venant en grande partie de familles aisées, aussi bien des environs que de l’étranger.

Pour assurer une détente aux élèves, les Pères de l’internat louent en 1638 le domaine Crayenhof à Burcht, situé à la campagne. L’insécurité provoquée par les troupes hollandaises toutes proches, poussent les jésuites à acquérir le domaine Bisschoppenhof de l’évêque Malderus au Kiel. Ils le transforment en lieu d’agrément avec des arbres, des haies, des buissons, des étangs et des plaines de jeux. La construction de la nouvelle chapelle Mariale qui fait aussi office d’église pour les 4.000 habitants du Kiel et de Beerschot, donnera au domaine le nom de ‘Mariënborgh’.