The Antwerp jesuit church, a revelation.

Spatial effect from all sides

A design by brother Pieter Huyssens for the ground plan of the profess house, ca. 1622, where the Huis van Aken should make place for a porch gallery, unrealized © Archief Sint-Carolus Borromeuskerk, Antwerpen

For his great plans Father Tirinus had to dispose of a vast building lot and he proceeded to buy all the premises in Spuistraat, several ones in Sint-Kathelijnevest and a few in Wijngaardstraat. The extensive parcel was staked out as follows:

  • to the South: by Korte Nieuwstraat
  • to the North: by Wijngaardstraat
  • to the West: by new Sint-Pieter en Paulusstraat, which replaces old Spuistraat
  • to the East: by Sint-Kathelijnevest (the street) and next to it the open canal of the same name

The newly acquired premises were pulled down and both canals were vaulted for the greater part: Ankerrui, which went straight across the plot, and the canal of Sint-Kathelijnevest. And so, the site was prepared for a huge building project. But how could this free space be used best? Several things had to be considered:

  • the division of the area: the large oblong surfaces had to be reserved for the church and the square.
  • the integration of the spacious House of Aachen, the only building that was preserved.
  • the intended spatial and urban development effects (see further)
  • the fathers’ needs and the functions of the buildings

The Baroque church is oriented towards the East, just like the old Gothic churches in the neighbourhood, but this is rather a co-incidence, due to the division of the site. After all Baroque architecture, which found its origin in the sunny South, was not interested in the Gothic symbolism of light and the orientation of churches towards the East, which it went with.

House of Aachen, built around an oblong court, constituted the kernel of the extensions. To the (former) front (at the former Spuistraat) two western wings were added, one of which had an elegant open gallery. They flanked the great courtyard and continued to a smaller, not completely closed courtyard. To the East there was a big square garden, with next to it the kitchen, the refectory and in the outmost South-Eastern corner an infirmary for Fathers suffering from contagious diseases.

Now that the old façade of House of Aachen had been enclosed, they wanted the Baroque frontage of the new residence to give out onto the large church square. Which passer-by could have guessed that behind this one new, long front such a remarkable complex of old premises and new wings around several inner courts was hidden?

The monumental entrance door bears the order’s IHS-emblem. The reception halls and parlours were on the ground floor, while the upper floor contained the immense library. The Father’s private rooms were at the South end of the upper floor.

In 1622-1623 the Marian congregations had the sodality building constructed at their own costs. It was situated in front of the new church façade and contained two big rectangular chapels, one on the ground floor and one on the first floor. In fact, this building was attached as a side wing to the frontage of the professed house. Because of the same articulation, materials and decoration they constitute an architectural unity.

The church, the professed house and the sodality building are the three wings of a Baroque building complex around a central forecourt as can be found e.g. in Versailles Palace, the Palazzo Barberini in Rome or the Würzburger Rezidenz.

Still it is not the residence’s central frontage that draws the attention, but, despite being aside, the church with its impressive façade. There another dynamic characteristic of Baroque is shown. When you want to go to the central porch of the church you cannot go straight for the goal; the sodality building at the West end of the church square prevents a street or passage directly across the church porch. Whoever arrives in the church square discovers the impressive church façade either slowly coming from Wijngaardstraat, or abruptly as it were in a frog’s eye view when coming through the so-called Jesuit Hole, which is the barrel-vaulted passage on street level between the sodality building and the professed house. This ‘hole’ gives out onto Jezuïetenrui. Such a sideways approach is typical of Baroque. In Baroque Rome, plenty of examples are to be found to illustrate this with innumerable squares dominated by church façades. Generally known is Saint Peter’s Square (Gian Lorenzo Bernini, 1656-1666), where an obelisk forces you to make an elegant bend to go up sideways to the symbol of the Catholic Church.

L’église des jésuites à Anvers, une révélation.

Les travaux s’étendent
dans toutes les directions

Le projet d’un plan dressé par le frère Pieter Huyssens pour la réalisation de la maison professe, vers 1622, remplaçant la ‘Huis van Aken’ par une galerie à portiques, non réalisé. © Archives Sint-Carolus Borromeuskerk, Antwerpen

Pour réaliser ses plans, le Père Tirinus doit pouvoir disposer d’un énorme terrain. Les immeubles d’une rue entière (la Spuistraat) ainsi que beaucoup de maisons de la Sint-Katelijnevest (le Rempart Sainte-Catherine) et quelques-unes de la Wijngaardstraat (la rue du Vignoble) furent achetées. Ce vaste terrain se délimite de la façon suivante :

  • au sud par la Korte Nieuwstraat (la courte rue Neuve)
  • au nord par la Wijngaardstraat (la rue du Vignoble)
  • à l’ouest par la nouvelle Sint-Pieter- en Paulusstraat (la rue St-Pierre et Paul) qui remplace la Spuistraat
  • à l’est par la Sint-Katelijnevest (le rempart Sainte-Catherine), et à côté le canal du même nom.

Ces nouvelles acquisitions sont démolies, les deux canaux sont voûtés : l’Ankerrui qui traverse le terrain et le canal du Rempart Sainte-Catherine. Mais comment employer au mieux ce terrain déblayé ? Il faut entre autres tenir compte de

  • l’aménagement du territoire : les grands terrains rectangulaires doivent être réservés à l’église et à son parvis.
  • l’intégration de la superbe ‘Huis van Aken’, le seul bâtiment qui sera conservé.
  • le but à atteindre sur le plan architectural urbain et l’emploi de l’espace. (voir plus loin).
  • les besoins des pères et les fonctions à réserver aux espaces.

Que cette église baroque soit orientée vers l’est comme le sont ses consœurs gothiques semble un hasard dû à la configuration du terrain. Le fait est que le style baroque, né dans les pays du sud inondés de soleil, ne se sent plus lié à la symbolique gothique de la lumière et l’obligatoire orientation vers l’est.

La ‘Huis van Aken’ forme le noyau de la construction ultérieure. Deux ailes dirigées vers l’ouest sont construites à partir de l’ancienne façade (de la Spuistraat disparue), dont une avec une élégante galerie ouverte. Elles bordent le grand préau et continuent vers une cour qui n’est pas entièrement clôturée. À l’est, les cuisines, le réfectoire et dans l’angle sud-est le plus éloigné, l’infirmerie avec un lazaret pour les malades souffrant d’affections infectieuses donnent sur un grand jardin de forme carrée.

Maintenant que l’ancienne façade de la ‘Huis van Aken’ est incluse, on désire que la nouvelle, en style baroque, donne sur la grand-place de l’église. Mais quel passant pourrait se douter un seul instant que derrière cette unique façade construite toute en longueur se cache un tel complexe d’anciens immeubles et de nouvelles ailes érigées autour de plusieurs préaux intérieurs ?

L’entrée monumentale est marquée par l’emblème IHS de l’Ordre. Les salons et les parloirs sont au rez-de-chaussée tandis que le premier étage abrite l’immense bibliothèque. Les chambres individuelles des Pères situées au premier étage, sont orientées vers le sud.

Entre-temps, (1622-23) les congrégations mariales prennent la responsabilité de faire construire, à l’ouest de la place, face à la nouvelle façade de l’église, une résidence de Sodalité, dotée de deux grandes chapelles rectangulaires, édifiées l’une au-dessus de l’autre. En fait, cette aile touche la façade de la maison professe. En tenant compte du même niveau des étages, des matériaux et de la décoration, elle s’intègre complètement dans l’ensemble.

L’église, la maison professe et les salles de la Sodalité forment trois ailes d’un plan architectural inséré autour d’une esplanade publique. Cet aménagement se retrouve entre autres au Palais de Versailles, au Palazzo Barberini de Rome et la Würzburger Residenz.

Et pourtant la façade centrale de la résidence n’attire pas tous les regards. C’est l’église malgré sa position décentrée qui lui vole la vedette grâce à sa façade d’une grande majesté. Une autre caractéristique du baroque apparaît ici. Pour se rendre au portail principal de l’église, nous ne pouvons y aller en droite ligne. En effet, à l’ouest de la place, le bâtiment de la sodalité flanqué de ses chapelles empêche un accès direct au portail : il n’y a ni rue, ni passage en face du porche. L’imposante façade se laisse surprendre dans une perspective en contre-plongée, à partir de la Wijngaardstraat ou en passant par la Jezuïetenrui, situées de chaque côté de la place. La travée qui joint le bâtiment de la Sodalité à la maison professe forme un passage voûté en berceau qui donne sur la Jezuïetenrui. Aborder l’objectif par la tangente est une caractéristique du style baroque. Rome est riche de ces exemples d’urbanisation baroque où l’église domine la place. L’obélisque de la place St-Pierre (Gian Lorenzo Bernini, 1656-‘67) oblige de faire un slalom élégant pour se diriger vers le symbole de l’Église Catholique.