The Antwerp jesuit church, a revelation.

The sodality building

Gather around Mary

The fathers of the profess house were also responsible for the Sodalities of Our Lady. To conduct male persons from all social classes and ages to the ideal of holiness the Society of Jesus founded fellowships of which Jesus’ mother, Mary, was the patron. Divided according to age, marital status or language the members of these sodalities gathered on Sunday mornings. The first sodalities were founded among college pupils after the town had been reconquered in 1585. It was they who took action to give mother Mary, the patron of the town, a more than life size statue on the front of the town hall: a sculpture by Philips De Vos. Such a deepening of faith, focusing on a specific group of people was quite successful among intellectuals and artists and among middle classes. This missionary work flourished extremely well, not only in number of members but also in activities and influence. The increasing membership (over 3,000), spread across some ten sodalities, forced them to have a separate wing built – at their own costs: the sodality building (1622-1623), consisting of two vast chapels for gatherings, one above the other.

The ground floor was used by grownups:  either the Dutch speaking married men, or the more scholarly Latinists, including P.P. Rubens, Balthasar Moretus and a few clergymen such as canon Aubertus Miraeus. Our Lady of the Annunciation was the patron of both sections and above the altar the members could all admire a representation by their kindred spirit Rubens, whose active contribution also shows in two mandates as committee member. Later the French speaking section (the ‘Walloons’), the foreigners who lived in Antwerp, also gathered there. Their patron was Our Lady Immaculate.

The mystic marriage of the beatified Herman-Joseph with Our Lady, Antony van Dyck, 1630, (Kunsthistorisches Museum, Wien, photo Wikipedia)

The upper chapel belonged to the Dutch speaking youngsters, who could go upstairs more easily. Those who were older than 18 and unmarried were members of the Bejaerde jongmans (literally: ‘Old bachelors), with Our Lady of the Nativity as their patron. One of their most famous members was Anthony van Dyck, who in 1628 painted Our Lady with Child and Saint Rosalia, as well as The mystic marriage of the beatified Herman-Joseph. The fact that he charged only modest sums for these paintings, may suggest that he was more than a paper member.

It is striking that so many artists were members of these sodalities. That is why their registration here has been the most frequently quoted biographic source, after the registration list of Saint Luke’s Guild. No wonder that these gathering rooms excelled in artistic splendour

Especially the upper chapel must have been magnificent, full of rich materials and colours. A cycle of no less than 27 paintings in honour of Mother Mary embellished the ceiling. Before the Revolution French soldiers admired this chapel so much that they found it worthy to be their king’s dining hall. All this splendour perished at the abolition of the Jesuit order in 1773. This happened improperly since the sodalities had an independent status and had always paid for its construction, accommodation, decoration and maintenance themselves.

Although in their prestigious college the future leading classes were moulded, the Jesuit’s mission also aimed at the education of working youngsters. In line with Sunday schools they organized religious instruction both in town as in the surrounding countryside: catechism classes. This could only be done with the support of the sodalities. For this goal thirteen chapels were at their disposal in town. Thus, there was outreach to no less than 3,200 children in 1609. A separate sodality, the Brotherhood of Christian Teaching, with Charles Borromeo as their patron, had to promote this mission even more. Some forty middle class and noble women took care of the girls. A special category were the spiritual daughters: middle class women who aimed at Christian virtuousness, took the oath of chastity and mostly continued living in their parents’ house. For spiritual guidance, they got help from a Jesuit.

The children’s inquisitiveness was promoted by competitions, with prints, medals, rosaries and books of devotion as rewards. This culminated into a magnificent catechism feast with biblical and allegoric tableaus. In this way, it was the Jesuits who introduced the feast of the First Communion (1656). Sometimes there were as many as 1,600 children making their first Communion in one year. To support these catechism classes the Antwerp Jesuits published books of catechism. This initiative gave rise to the Catechism of Malines (1623) under the guidance of Father Willem de Pretere.

L’église des jésuites à Anvers, une révélation.

Le bâtiment des sodalités

Se rassembler autour de Marie

Les Pères de la maison professe s’engagent également dans les congrégations Mariales ou Sodalités. Pour stimuler tout homme de tout rang, de toute condition et de tout âge à rehausser son idéal de sainteté, la Société de Jésus fonde des associations prenant Marie, la Mère de Jésus, comme sainte patronne. Selon l’âge, le niveau de vie et/ou la langue, les membres se réunissent le dimanche matin. Les premières sodalités naissent parmi les étudiants du collège, après la prise de la ville en 1585. Ce sont eux qui parviendront à remettre une énorme statue de la Vierge, patronne d’Anvers, une œuvre de Philippe de Vos, dans la niche de la façade de l’hôtel de ville. Cette façon d’approfondir sa Foi enthousiasme un public très spécifique d’intellectuels, de bourgeois et d’artistes. L’apostolat connaît un succès inégalé, tant par son nombre de membres, par ses démarches, que par son influence. Ses membres en nombre grandissant (plus de 3000), répartis entre une dizaine de sodalités, les obligent à construire, entre 1622 et 1624, et cela à leurs frais, une aile séparée : le bâtiment de la sodalité comprenant deux grandes chapelles superposées.

Le rez-de-chaussée est destiné aux adultes qui s’affilient soit aux Hommes Mariés Néerlandophones, soit aux Latinistes, plus érudits, dont Pierre Paul Rubens, Balthasar Moretus et quelques religieux comme le chanoine Aubert Miraeus. Ces deux sections sont sous la protection de la Vierge de l’Annonciation et peuvent admirer le tableau qui décore l’autel, peint de la main de leur compagnon Rubens en personne. Sa participation active se prolonge par deux mandats de membre du conseil d’administration. Plus tard, la section Francophone des Wallons, soit les étrangers résidant à Anvers, viendra s’y ajouter sous le titre de la Conception Immaculée de Marie.

Le mariage mystique du bienheureux Herman Joseph avec Notre-Dame, Antoine van Dyck, 1630, (Kunsthistorisches Museum, Wien, photo Wikipedia)

La chapelle supérieure est occupée par les jeunes néerlandophones, plus aptes à faire les escaliers. Le célibataire de plus de 18 ans fait partie de la sodalité des Jeunes Gens Âgés, sous le titre de La Nativité de la Vierge. Antoine Van Dyck, le plus illustre de ses membres, peint pour le Maître-autel La Vierge à l’Enfant et sainte Rosalie ainsi que Le mariage mystique du bienheureux Herman Joseph. Très raisonnable dans les montants de sa facture, Van Dyck prouve sans doute par ce geste qu’il était plus qu’un membre passif de la sodalité.

Que tant d’artistes soient membres d’une de ces congrégations de Marie est assez surprenant. Leur inscription à ces congrégations, après l’inscription à la guilde de St-Luc, est la source biographique la plus citée pour le baroque anversois. Cela ne nous étonnera donc guère que ces locaux fussent des temples de beauté artistique.

La chapelle supérieure a dû être de toute beauté, riche en couleurs et en matériaux. Un cycle de pas moins de 27 tableaux en l’honneur de Marie ornait le plafond ; neuf travées avec chacune une scène de la vie de Marie, entourée de symboles et d’emblèmes. Des soldats français (d’avant la Révolution), à tels points admiratifs trouvèrent cette chapelle digne de servir de salle à manger du Roi. Toute cette magnificence se perdit, en 1773, lors de la suppression de l’Ordre des jésuites : acte injuste puisque les sodalités disposaient d’un statut indépendant, ayant toujours été garantes des coûts de construction, d’aménagement, de décoration et d’entretien.

Si les futures classes dirigeantes trouvent leur place dans leur collège prestigieux, les jésuites n’oublient pas, pour autant, les jeunes travailleurs. Tant en ville qu’à la campagne environnante, dans le cadre de l’enseignement dominical, les membres des congrégations mariales organisent des cours de catéchisme. Pour ce faire, ils disposent de treize chapelles parsemées dans la ville. En 1609, pas moins de 3.200 enfants sont ainsi contactés. Une sodalité particulière, la Confrérie de l’Instruction Chrétienne, son patron étant saint Charles Borromée, confère à cette tâche encore plus d’attention. Une quarantaine de dames de la bourgeoisie et de la noblesse prennent les jeunes filles en charge. Les Filles Spirituelles forment une catégorie spéciale : ces femmes de la bourgeoisie font vœux de virginité et tendent à suivre les préceptes chrétiens. La plupart vivent chez leurs parents. Pour les guider, elles s’adressent à un père jésuite qui sera leur directeur de conscience.

Le désir d’apprendre chez les enfants est favorisé par des concours récompensés par une distribution d’images, de médailles, de chapelets et de livres de prières. Tout ceci débouche sur une belle fête du catéchisme pendant laquelle des saynètes bibliques et allégoriques sont interprétées. Ainsi naquit, chez les jésuites flamands, la Fête de la Première Communion (1656). En une seule année, l’église des jésuites compte parfois 1600 premiers communiants. Pour soutenir l’enseignement oral de la catéchèse, les jésuites anversois distribuent des livrets de catéchisme. Ceci conduit le père Willem de Pretere, en 1623, au célèbre Catéchisme de Malines.