The Antwerp jesuit church, a revelation.

The tower

The tower, Jacques de la Barre, cupper etch, ca. 1650, © Archief Sint-Carolus Borromeuskerk, Antwerpen

Less to be seen, more to be heard

To start services punctually for believers who do not own a watch yet, churches have been provided with auditive means, bells. They have been here since 1624. To have their sound chimed loudly enough across the roofs into the living rooms, these bronze colossi must be high enough. This bell tower is as tall as 58 m (190 ft.), i.e. the height of six houses. That bronze can also be used for less peaceful purposes, could be experienced by the parishioners in 1943, when the bells Aloysius (403 kg) and Franciscus (588 kg) were requisitioned by the German occupier. Since 1954 there have been four bells again.

The tower is behind the apse, which is typically Baroque, and this is the case for several reasons:

  • aesthetically: it must not be in the way of the façade
  • theologically: it is very close to the high altar, where the Eucharist is celebrated and to the tabernacle, where the consecrated hosts are kept. They make Jesus’ presence tangible and are therefore called ‘Holy Sacrament’. This explains why since the 19th century there has been a group of statues of angels on the facade in St.-Kathelijnevest, who kneel in worship of the chalice and a host.

As the tower is behind the church and an impressive screen, which is the facade, hides it from our view, this pearl of Baroque architecture is hardly visible from the church square. The elegant design deserves our attention though.

How elegant is the solution to climb up from a square base to one point at the tower’s cross? The big lantern has a smaller lantern as a crowning, which also functions as a base for the cross.

How graceful is the fourfold use of the Venetian opening, or Serlian arch, in the big lantern? This motif consists of three openings between four pillars: the central one is covered by a rounded arch, the two side openings by a horizontal architrave. This Serlian arch, named after architect Serlio (1475-1554), is a contribution of Rubens, who, during his stay at the ducal palace in Mantua, could look up at a church tower with this motif every day.

A signpost ‘Beware! Falling stones!’ could have been useful now and then. On 7th April 1906, a falling bluestone caused the death of a paperer from Koepoortbrug. In the beginning of the 1990’s rubble fell onto a car. This was not to be wondered since a real tree was growing on the tower. Since then till the end of the restoration in 2006 the tower was in scaffolding. ‘The mills of God grind slowly, yet they grind exceeding small’ apparently also goes for the mills of administration.

L’église des jésuites à Anvers, une révélation.

La tour

La tour, Jacques de la Barre, gravure sur cuivre, vers 1650, © Archives Sint-Carolus Borromeuskerk, Antwerpen

Écouter plutôt que regarder

Pour commencer les offices religieux à l’heure pour les croyants qui ne disposaient pas encore d’horloges, les églises sont dotées de moyens auditifs, des cloches ; ici depuis 1624. Pour que leur son résonne suffisamment fort par-dessus les toits jusque dans les foyers, ces colosses de bronze doivent pendre à bonne hauteur. Ce clocher atteint une hauteur de 58 m, soit six maisons de haut. Que le bronze soit également utile à des fins moins pacifiques, les paroissiens le découvrent en 1943 quand les cloches Aloysius (403 kg) et François (588 kg) sont revendiquées par l’occupant allemand. Depuis 1954, quatre cloches sonnent à nouveau.

Le style baroque place le clocher derrière l’abside. Les raisons en sont :

  • esthétiques : elle ne peut, en aucune façon, cacher la façade.
  • théologiques : elle se trouve ainsi tout près du maître-autel où l’Eucharistie est célébrée, et près du tabernacle où les hosties consacrées sont conservées. Celles-ci rendent la présence de Jésus tangible, de là le ‘Saint Sacrement’. D’où la présence depuis le XIXe siècle d’un groupe sculpté sur la façade de la Katelijnevest montrant des angelots en adoration devant un calice et une hostie.

La tour de l’église étant placée derrière une imposante façade qui coupe la vue, cette petite perle de l’architecture baroque est à peine visible depuis la place de l’église. Ses formes élégantes méritent pourtant toute notre attention.

Quelle élégance : partir d’une base carrée pour s’élever jusqu’à la pointe de la croix. La grande lanterne est couronnée d’un petit lanterneau qui sert de socle à la croix.

Et que penser de la finesse du quadruple usage d’une ouverture vénitienne ou serliana ? ce motif consiste en 3 ouvertures entre 4 colonnes : celle du milieu s’achève en arc à demi-cercle, les deux ouvertures latérales par une architrave horizontale. Cette serliana, d’après l’architecte Serlio (1475-1554), est un apport de Rubens qui, lors de son long séjour au palais ducal de Mantoue, pouvait quotidiennement admirer une tour d’église agrémentée de ce motif.

Une signalisation routière ‘Attention, chute de pierre !’ eut été utile de temps à autre. Le 7 avril 1906 la chute d’une pierre de taille provoque la mort d’un tapissier de la Koepoortbrug. Début 1990, des gravats abîment une voiture. Pas étonnant car un grand arbre poussait sur la tour ! Depuis lors la tour était enveloppée d’échafaudages jusqu’à la restauration en 2006. ‘Les moulins du Bon Dieu tournent lentement’, mais cela vaut aussi pour (les moulins de) l’administration.