The Antwerp jesuit church, a revelation.

The prehistory

The first Jesuits in Antwerp (1562–1614)

Once upon a time… there was a student in Paris who had difficulty to pay for his studies, an enthusiastic man, of lower nobility, from the Spanish Basque Country. His name: Iñigo de Loyola (1491-1556). He visited the Low Countries thrice (1529, ’30 and ’31) to beg money from his wealthy compatriots. Formerly a bust with a chronogram at the corner of Lange Nieuwstraat and present Eikenstraat was a reminder of his stay in the commercial metropolis Antwerp. Now there is only a modest plate against the former churchyard wall at the southern entrance to Saint James’ Church. With his Latinised name ‘Ignatius’ he has become world famous as the founder of the Society of Jesus, better known as the order of the Jesuits, which was acknowledged by pope Paul III in 1540.

When years later the Spanish community in Antwerp wanted a chaplain who spoke their mother tongue, they could appeal to the young, active order of Spanish origin. So, the first Jesuit settled here in 1562 and was soon followed by some foreign fathers for the pastoral service to the important Spanish and Portuguese communities. Five years later they were also active as army chaplains in the garrison of the Grand Duke of Alba, which was encamped in the brand-new citadel. For the time being the fathers rented a premise in Meir. In this way Antwerp became the third foundation of the Society in the Dutch speaking region, after Louvain (1542) and Bruges (1560).

They wanted very much to widen their scope of activities with a college for secondary education. Thanks to the generous support of numerous benefactors they bought the famous Huis van Aken, a late Gothic premise surrounding a square inner courtyard, for 34,000 florins in 1574. It was one of the biggest and most magnificent patrician houses in town, built by ironmonger Erasmus Schetz from Aachen at Korte Nieuwstraat and (the now gone) Spuistraat (at the present Campus Carolus of Lessius High School Antwerp). Do you see the narrow door and windows below a higher roof corner in the south-eastern corner of the church square? This is a remnant of it.

The costs of the adaptation works and the building of an aisleless chapel in the garden – another 10,000 florins – were completely borne by the well to do Spaniard F. Frias. Soon the college had some 300 pupils.

Because in 1576 the cruel Spanish Fury passed by their house, the reputation of the Jesuits as Spanish priests was reinforced. And they had to pay for that. For understandably Antwerp chose an anti-Spanish revolutionary rule, and soon this government became distinctly Calvinistic. The Catholic clergy who would not agree with the oath of loyalty to the Republic, had to leave the town, which the Jesuits did in 1578. That the ‘colonels’ of the revolutionary citizen guard settled in one of the college halls, could be a symbolic political move. Moreover, part of the furniture was claimed for William of Orange’s residence in the Citadel. From then the Calvinists would preach in the Jesuit chapel, which they ‘cleared’ of everything that was Roman-Catholic.

In 1585 times changed. After the siege by Alexander Farnese the town had only just been taken over by the lawful Spanish authorities when the next day the Jesuits took possession of their belongings and the third day they celebrated a jubilation mass in the presence of the governor. The college could reopen its doors.

L’église des jésuites à Anvers, une révélation.

Les Antécédents

Les premiers jésuites à Anvers (1562–1614)

Il était une fois… un étudiant à Paris qui éprouvait des difficultés à financer ses études. C’est un homme averti, de la petite noblesse basque espagnole. Il s’appelle Iñigo de Loyola (1491-1556). À trois reprises, il se rend aux Pays-Bas. (1529, 1530 et 1531) pour solliciter de l’argent auprès de ses compatriotes richement nantis. Pour remémorer son séjour à Anvers, métropole commerciale, au coin de la Lange Nieuwstraat et de l’actuelle Eikenstraat, un buste et un chronogramme ornaient jadis l’angle de la façade. Actuellement, il n’y a qu’une modeste petite plaque, contre le mur du vieux cimetière à l’entrée sud de l’église Saint-Jacques. Sous son nom latinisé ‘Ignatius’, il sera célèbre dans le monde entier en tant que fondateur de la Société de Jésus, mieux connue comme l’Ordre des jésuites, reconnu par le pape Paul III en 1540.

Lorsque des années plus tard la colonie Espagnole d’Anvers désire un chapelain s’exprimant dans sa langue maternelle, elle s’adresse à juste titre à l’Ordre, jeune et actif, d’origine espagnole. De ce fait, en 1562 vient s’établir ici le premier Jésuite, très vite suivi par quelques Pères venant de l’étranger pour assurer la pastorale des nombreux espagnols et portugais. Cinq ans plus tard, ils seront aussi nommés aumôniers militaires auprès de la garnison du Duc d’Albe, casernée dans la nouvelle citadelle. Les pères louent provisoirement un immeuble au Meir. Après Louvain (1542) et Bruges (1560), Anvers devient ainsi la troisième fondation de la Société dans la région néerlandophone.

Les jésuites aimeraient étendre leur champ d’activités par un collège du cycle secondaire. En 1574, grâce au soutien de généreux donateurs, ils achètent pour la somme de 34.000 florins l’illustre ‘Huys van Aecken’ (la maison d’Aix-la Chapelle), un bâtiment en style gothique tardif autour d’une cour rectangulaire. C’est une des plus grandes et belles habitations patriciennes de la ville situées à la Korte Nieuwstraat et à la Spuistraat (aujourd’hui disparue mais actuellement au niveau du Campus Carolus de Lessius Antwerpen) par le négociant en métal Erasmus Schetz d’Aix-la-Chapelle.  Dans l’angle sud-est de la place actuelle, la porte et les fenêtres étroites ainsi qu’un pignon surélevé est tout ce qu’il en reste.

Les frais occasionnés par les travaux de rénovation ainsi que ceux de la construction d’une chapelle à nef unique dans le jardin, exigent encore 10.000 florins qui seront intégralement supportés par F. Frias, un Espagnol fortuné. Le collège comptera rapidement environ 300 élèves.

La sanguinaire Furie Espagnole (1576) épargne leur couvent ce qui renforce encore leur image de prêtres espagnols, fait qui leur sera très défavorable. Anvers se choisit, bien évidemment une administration révolutionnaire antiespagnole qui devient résolument calviniste. Les religieux catholiques qui refusent le serment d’allégeance à la République, doivent quitter la ville, parmi eux les jésuites en 1578. Les ‘colonels’ de la garde civile révolutionnaire occupent un des locaux du collège. Cela ressemble fort à un coup politique à valeur symbolique. D’autant plus que le mobilier est en partie réquisitionné pour garnir la résidence de Guillaume d’Orange dans la Citadelle. Désormais, les calvinistes prêchent dans la chapelle des jésuites, qu’ils « purifient » de tout ce qui est catholique romain.

En 1585 retournement de situation. La ville, assiégée par Alexandre Farnèse, revient à peine sous l’autorité du pouvoir légitime espagnol que le jour suivant, les jésuites s’empressent de retrouver leurs possessions et le troisième jour, en présence du gouverneur, ils célèbrent une messe de louange. Le collège peut rouvrir ses portes.