A brief survey on the

Saint Paul’s church in Antwerp

The Saint Paul’s church is one of the cornerstones of Antwerp. It has its own special charm. In Antwerp ‘Saint Paul’ is a familiar name thanks to its immense artistic heritage, the quiet and picturesque Calvary, the history of the ancient monastery, the glory of the solemn masses, but also thanks to its location as a well-anchored beacon in the sailors’ quarter, honoured by time. The baroque monumental tower, with a double lantern crown gives it a light-hearted look into the cityscape.

This Dominican order house was a centre of intellectual studies in the Middle Ages and even more during the Counter-Reformation. Its patron saint, Paul, protects the preachers as they travel through their city and its surroundings and in the seventeenth century, even across northern Europe, predominantly Protestant. Mindful of their motto, as is written on the high altar, they preach ‘in faith and truth’.

The first church built on this site was consecrated in 1276. In the sixteenth century the floor level was raised to put an end to the periodic flooding caused by the river Scheldt (although it was still clean and pure). After the stormy sixteenth century, one could resume the extension works in the Gothic style. Not for nothing ‘Saint Paul’ is said to be ‘a baroque jewel in a gothic chest’; Baroque furniture is in complete agreement with Gothic architecture.

After the abolition of the monastery by the French, in 1796, Prior Peltiers managed to regain the church. The church was bought by the city to start a new parish. In 1968, a disastrous fire destroyed the entire complex. The most urgent repairs were neglected for too long. After two decades, a new roof was finally built. As per the end of the 20th century this agony came to an end. The golden age of the Baroque is again celebrated here.

The art of painting is represented by Antwerp masters such as Rubens, Jordaens and Van Dyck, not least in the series of fifteen paintings depicting the mysteries of the rosary.

There is an overabundance of sculptures: altars, balustrades, the choir stalls and organ, epitaphs and especially the confessionals with no less than forty man-sized figures and … – as if all this were not enough – there is a huge garden carved like a living open air theatre.

Kerricx, Verbruggen, Quellin and others show an unmistakable Flemish accent in the vitality of their narrative art. This is especially noticeable in the confessionals where the inner struggle between good and evil is surprisingly creatively portrayed. Hence “almost real” unruly dogs, roaring lions, singing roosters, lustful monkeys or a “scapegoat”: their power must be tamed and domesticated. The creativity behind these devotional symbols is priceless: a dancing skeleton reminds us of the death; a butterfly on the resurrection to a new life. The children’s play as a ‘high five’, blowing soap bubbles or cat and mouse are shown to stimulate the practice of heavenly virtues without necessarily banishing entertainment … still a valid message.

And there’s more. The painting ‘The Seven works of charity’ bears witness to the social condition of our ancestors and ‘The sea battle of Lepanto’ (J. Peeters, 1671) illustrates a breaking point of European history. The Saint Paul’s church also has something else to say about art and particularly about art theft. Several works have been purchased or taken by foreign visitors: the price of success! Now tourists can find a whole series of publications produced by the St. Paul’s Friends. And nowhere else in Antwerp are so many masks. Each in his own way; they smile upon thee, even in the cloisters: a psychological ploy designed to help brighten the face with a daily smile.

The imposing organ, which is considered one of the top ten historical organs in Europe, is another source of joy. Along with the choir and orchestra, it arouses the emotions of those who go to Mass during the famous celebrations on holidays. Not to be missed.

Antwerpen Sint-Pauluskerk - Torenbekroning
Antwerpen Sint-Pauluskerk - Koorgestoelte
Antwerpen Sint-Pauluskerk - Rozenkrans

Église SAINT PAUL
Anvers

L’église Saint-Paul est une des pierres angulaires d’Anvers. Elle a son propre charme. À Anvers ‘Saint Paul’ est un nom familier grâce à son immense patrimoine artistique, le Calvaire calme et pittoresque, l’histoire de l’ancien monastère, la gloire des messes solennelles, mais aussi grâce à son emplacement comme un phare bien ancré dans le quartier des marins, honoré par le temps qui passe. La monumentale tour baroque, couronnée d’une double lanterne, lui donne un air léger dans le paysage urbain.

Cette maison dominicaine était au Moyen Age un vrai centre d’étude et plus encore lors de la Contre-Réforme. Son saint patron, Paul, protège les prédicateurs quand ils parcourent leur ville et ses environs et au XVIIe siècle, à travers l’Europe du Nord, majoritairement protestante. Ayant à l’esprit leur devise, comme inscrit sur le maître autel, ils prêchent «dans la foi et la vérité».

La première église construite sur ce site a été consacrée en 1276. Au XVIe siècle ont a relevé le niveau du sol pour mettre fin aux inondations périodiques causées par l’Escaut (bien qu’à l’époque il était encore propre et pur). Après le XVIe siècle mouvementé, on pouvait reprendre les travaux d’extension dans le style gothique. Ce n’est pas pour rien que de ‘Saint-Paul’ se dit que c’est ‘bijou baroque dans un écrin gothique’; le mobilier baroque est en parfait accord avec l’architecture gothique.

Après l’abolition du monastère par les Français, en 1796, le prieur Peltiers parvient à récupérer l’église. L’église a été achetée par la ville pour en faire une nouvelle paroisse. En 1968, un incendie désastreux a détruit l’ensemble du complexe. Les réparations les plus urgentes ont été négligées pendant trop longtemps. Après deux décennies, un nouveau toit a finalement été posé. Depuis la fin du XXe siècle cette longue agonie appartient au passé. L’âge d’or du baroque peut à nouveau y briller.

L’art de la peinture est représenté ici par les maîtres d’Anvers tels que Rubens, Jordaens et Van Dyck, pasle  moins dans la série des quinze mystères du rosaire.

Il y a une surabondance de sculptures: les autels, les balustrades, les stalles du chœur et l’orgue, les épitaphes et surtout les confessionnaux avec pas moins de quarante figures à taille humaine et … – comme si tout cela ne suffisait pas – il y a un grand jardin sculpté comme un théâtre en plein air.

Kerricx, Verbruggen, Quellin et d’autres ont fait preuve d’une habilité exceptionnelle avec un accent inimitable de vitalité flamande et d’art narratif. Ce qui est particulièrement perceptible dans les confessionnaux où la lutte intérieure entre le bien et le mal est illustrée d’une manière étonnamment créative. S’il y a des chiens indisciplinés, des lions rugissants, des coqs chantant, des singes lubriques ou un «bouc émissaire», leur force doit être freinée et domestiquée. La créativité derrière ces symboles de dévotion est inestimable: un   squelette dansant nous rappelle la mort; un papillon, la résurrection à une vie nouvelle. Les jeux d’enfants comme un «high five», faire des bulles de savon ou le chat et la souris sont montrés pour stimuler les vertus célestes sans négliger le plaisir … un message encore valide.

Et il y a plus. La peinture «Les sept œuvres de charité» témoigne de la condition sociale de nos ancêtres et « La bataille navale de Lépante» (J. Peeters, 1671) illustre une césure dans l’histoire européenne. L’église  Saint-Paul a aussi autre chose à dire à propos de l’art et en particulier au sujet du vol d’art. Plusieurs travaux ont été achetés ou pris par les visiteurs étrangers: le prix du succès! Maintenant, les touristes disposent d’une série de publications produites par les amis de Saint-Paul. Et nulle part ailleurs à Anvers il y a autant de masques. Chacun à sa manière; ils vous sourient, même dans les cloîtres: un stratagème psychologique conçu pour aider à éclairer le visage avec un sourire quotidien.

L’orgue imposant, qui est considéré comme l’un des dix meilleurs orgues historiques d’Europe, est une autre source de joie. Avec le chœur et l’orchestre, elle suscite les émotions de ceux qui vont à la messe lors des grandes fêtes. À ne pas manquer.