Saint Andrew: More than just another museum…

Opened in 2008, this museum wishes to be more than a room kindly showing valuable objects. It is willing to tell a story. Not the one of this building, nor that of the Church as institution, but the story of the Antwerp citizens, living close – or even in – this church.

This story goes along five themes, build around the duality of poor/rich. Thus referring to the social history of Saint-Andrews as “Parish of Misery”.

Its parishioners, poor and rich, profoundly attached to their faith, gave this neighbourhood its church and treasures. Each of them according to his wallet.

At a time when medicine was not really a science, saints were placed on a pedestal and invoked for any disease, physical as well as mental. To venerate the saints also involved relational and familial values. Thanksgiving was then expressed with ex-votos, silver plaques or wax puppets, according to one’s fortune. A quite special ex-voto is a silver canon bullet, in remembrance of bombings on the city, destroying near to 600 houses, during the independence war. The magnificent mantle of Our Lady of Support and Victory was offered by the first Belgian Mayor of Antwerp to thank for these bombing having caused only few casualties.

Once a year the procession came out: everyone either followed it or had his house decorated. The central scenery displays part of that procession. The two top items are Our Lady’s ceremonial mantle and Saint Andrew’s vessel, a silver reliquary, under full sails. Vintage photographs complete this evocation.

The two social classes, rich and poor, are twice contrasted. On one hand two huge photographs of an alley and a street. Furthermore a simple wooden chapel with Saint Rochus invoked against cholera in poor neighbourhoods and a large stone Virgin adorned with silver at the corner of a bourgeois street.

The exhibition ends by giving to see what goes on behind the facades: the religiously inspired decor in the living room, straw or ivory depending on one’s purse. Lace is a domestic industry. Further on, a priest brings the sacrament to a dying man.

With this concept parish priest Rudi Mannaerts want to give the visitor a contemporary witness to what was the colourful religious life in this Antwerp neighbourhood.

Realised with the support of the city, the province and the Flemish Community, designed by Robert Buelens, interior architect and executed by Franky Security, the result is worth it.

You can inquire for a guided visit via +32 (0)494 11 65 28 or by mail at info@topa.be. This visit can be combined with a visit to the church and the neighbourhood.

Saint André: Plus qu’un musée comme les autres…

Ouvert en 2008, ce musée veut être plus qu’une salle exposant sagement des objets précieux. Il veut avant tout raconter une histoire. Non pas celle du bâtiment, ni celle de l’église-institution, mais bien celle des Anversois qui vivaient près de – et même dans – l’église.

Cette histoire se développe en cinq thèmes, articulés autour de la dualité pauvre/riche. Faisant ainsi référence à l’histoire sociale de Saint-André en tant que Paroisse de misère.

C’est à ses paroissiens, pauvres et riches, fort attachés à leur foi, que le quartier doit son église et ses trésors. Tous y allant de leur poche, en fonction de son contenu.

Au temps où la médecine restait aléatoire, les saints étaient placés sur un piédestal et invoqués pour tous les maux, tant physiques que psychiques. La vénération des saints incluait aussi les valeurs relationnelles et familiales. La reconnaissance prenait alors la forme d’ex-votos, plaquettes d’argent et poupées de cire, selon la fortune de chacun. Un ex-voto très spécial est le boulet de canon en argent en souvenir des bombardements de la ville détruisant près de 600 maisons lors de la guerre d’indépendance. Le magnifique manteau de Notre Dame du Secours et de la Victoire fut offert par le premier bourgmestre Belge en remerciement du fait que ces bombardements ne firent que peu de victimes.

Une fois l’an la procession sortait : tout le monde la suivait ou décorait sa maison. La vitrine centrale vous montre un bout de cette procession. Les deux clous en sont le manteau d’apparat de la Vierge et le bateau de Saint André, un reliquaire en argent, toutes voiles dehors. Des photos d’époque complètent cette évocation.

Les deux classes sociales, pauvres et riches, sont par deux fois mises en contraste. D’une part deux immenses photographies d’une ruelle et d’une rue. D’autre part une simple chapelle en bois avec Saint Rochus invoqué contre le choléra pour les quartiers pauvres et une grande Vierge en pierre parée d’argent au coin d’une rue bourgeoise.

L’exposition termine en donnant à voir ce qui se vit derrière les façades : la décoration d’inspiration religieuse dans la pièce de séjour, paille ou ivoire d’après la bourse. La dentelle est une industrie domestique. Plus loin, un prêtre apporte le viatique à un mourant.

Par ce concept le Curé Rudi Mannaerts veut présenter au visiteur contemporain un témoignage de ce que fut la vie religieuse colorée dans ce quartier d’Anvers.

Réalisé avec le soutien de la ville, de la province et de la Communauté Flamande, conçu par Robert Buelens, architecte d’intérieur et exécuté par Franky Security, le résultat en vaut la peine.

Il vous est possible de demander une visite guidée via +32 (0)494 11 65 28 ou par courriel à info@topa.be. visite combinable avec celle de l’église et du quartier.

Suivez ce lien pour en savoir plus sur l’église Saint-André.